Caritas Islamabad – Rawalpindi

Caritas Pakistan Islamabad Rawalpindi is the diocesan unit of Caritas Pakistan, established in 1965 on the
philosophy of Caritas Pakistan to work as the social arm of the Catholic Church under the patronage of the Bishop of the Diocese. The working jurisdiction of the areas are of the Catholic Diocese of Islamabad-Rawalpindi.

The diocese consists of 9 districts of the Punjab Province (Rawalpindi, Jehlum, Gujrat, Chakwal, Sargodha, Khushab, Mianwali, Attock) the whole of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK), Azad Jammu & Kashmir (AJ&K), and Gilgit & Baltistan Province and Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT) covering an area of approximately 207,347 Sq. Kms.

CPIR started its operations in mid 70s for the relief and recovery of the flood affected, war of 1971 and later in 78 for the Afghan Refugee Relief Operations. Since, its inception CPIR has implemented number of Emergency Relief and Development projects across the diocese for the poor, oppressed, neglected and Disaster hit population of the areas with any distinction of color, caste and creed.
Through its projects CPIR has brought positive life changing attributes to more than 2 million families, through its social transformation projects and interventions. There are total 25 main parishes in the diocese. Presently CPIR is operative in 7 Six districts of the diocese.